Sweet 16

Today is our 16th Wedding Anniversary and as much as I would love to say they have been the sweetest of my life, that would be a lie.

My marriage, like any marriage, has had it’s ups and downs. We have had good times that have sustained us through the bad. The bad times have made us stronger. If it wasn’t for the difficult times and the opportunity we had to work together and make it through to the other side, our marriage wouldn’t be as strong as it is today. To this I credit my stubbornness and my husband’s love. It may not sound massively romantic (my husband is certainly not impressed), but during the hard times in our marriage, it was sheer stubbornness that kept me going. I refused to believe that things wouldn’t work out, that things wouldn’t get better, and that our marriage wasn’t going to last.

I am not romantic at all, that’s not to say romance doesn’t move me. The sweetest thing my husband ever said to me was “You hold this family together, you are the center, and this family doesn’t work without you.” As sweet as that is, I disagree. My husband is the love in this family. He is a cheerleader when I don’t think I have what it takes, he is a comedian when I take things too seriously, he is a compass when I veer off course, and he is the person I have chosen to spend my life with. When I tend to get stuck in trudging through the bad times, stubbornly, he reminds me that we are doing this because we love each other.

The hard times in our marriage is what defines us. Every challenge and disappointment that we have faced together have made us stronger. We may not have risen victorious over some of them, but we have always held firmly to each other. And my husband has always reminded me why we faced them together. We have built a life together.

I hope that my children learn many things from our marriage. How to treat the person you love and how to put in the hard work to build something to last. I hope they find in their own marriages that of the highs and lows that they will experience in their relationships, it is the lows that make your marriage stronger. When you have someone who fights, builds, and cultivates beside you, with the same goal in mind, the relationship is that much sweeter.

Happy Anniversary to my husband and the family we have created.

anniversary

4 thoughts on “Sweet 16

  1. This was a very sweet post. I agree with your assessment of marriage. Is that a picture of you and your husband. If so or not, it’s a beautiful picture.

    Thank you for the like on my blog.

  2. Happy Anniversary, Amy. That is a very lovely tribute. Marriage is difficult at times, but the conscious decision to stay together no matter what is what keeps them together! My eighteenth will be coming up this December!

Leave a Reply

