Beginnings

Some of my favorite writing exercises give you first lines to start you off. The assignment I was given two days ago was to come up with 20 possible first lines. Some I don’t like at all, and because of this

DSC02069

my motivation was pretty low that day. Instead of following the cat’s lead, I cranked out 20 first lines and finished the assignment with a list of possible scenes for Act I.

These are my twenty possible opening lines:

1. I thought insanity would be more relaxing.

2. I already had their graves staked out.

3. At this point of my life, I thought I’d be something more.

4. I was being held hostage.

5. My husband hated me.

6. I had to save myself, because nobody else would.

7. Everything that had made me who I was had been chewed up and spit out.

8. Somewhere between “I do” and today, I had ceased to exist.

9. This was not my life.

10. Maybe life was a ‘Choose your own adventure’ and I had chosen the wrong path.

11. Everything was falling apart around me.

12. There was no place to hide.

13. It was a warm spring day when my life shattered around me.

14. I was bumping around like a car with a blowout, being pulled in a direction I didn’t want to go.

15. The headline said ‘Woman Dead at 36’ and I had to double check and make sure it wasn’t me.

16. The clothes in m closet were meant for a different woman.

17. The thing about a treadmill is you never go anywhere, and it turned out my life was like that.

18. I thought about smothering him with a pillow, but instead satisfied my rage by placing tater tots all over his face.

19. I didn’t find God, God found me.

20. They should make pregnancy tests out of metal, it would make it easier to stab yourself.

Now on to ACT II.

2 thoughts on “Beginnings

  1. My favorites …
    – I thought insanity would be more relaxing.
    – I thought about smothering him with a pillow, but instead satisfied my rage by placing tater tots all over his face.

    This is a tough assignment. That first line is meant to immediately draw the reader in, right? Thanks for sharing. I’m going to follow your lead and give this a whirl. Are there any further instructions? I have to say … the majority of your first lines seem a bit “unhappy” so I hope they’re not all referring to YOUR reality!

    Ah, to live a cat’s life! Great post! Thank you!

    • Thanks for leaving a comment. đŸ™‚
      No, not my reality, just setting the mood for a characters midlife crisis at the beginning of the book.
      The other instructions for this assignment were: list 5 scenes that could possibly be in your first act and to write one of those scenes.

Leave a Reply

