Something New

Something happened when I turned 40. Well, other than my husband crowing that I was finally the same age as him. For the record, we were born in different calendar years, so that makes him 1 year older than me. Give or take a few months. Outside of the yearly birthday battle with my spouse, I realized that I am a stay at home mom. Well, I always knew that’s what I was, the problem was that’s all I felt I was. I stood in the middle of my kitchen having a-well, midlife crisis. When these kids move out, who am I? When my youngest heads off to school, where does that leave me? So, I decided to do something I have been putting off for years. Write and attempt to get that first novel published. Other than a couple of short articles published, I had not written a single (fictional) word in almost 15 years!

Definitely not where I had pictured myself at this age. I had finished my first novel at 11, the next at 13, and another at 18 with lots of short stories and poems filling binders in between. Something that I had loved to do had fallen to the wayside. So, I looked at my family and told them I had 4 years (until the youngest is in school full time) to make my dreams happen.

So, please join me as I wade my way back into fiction writing while raising my four babies and making sure my husband continues to think it’s “rainbows and unicorn rides” while he is at work.

Leave a Reply

